The Junior Naturalists program series offers environmental education through games, art, and outdoor experiences for kids going into grades K-6. We meet Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 10:00 a.m. – noon throughout the summer. There is a cost of $6 for members and $8 for non-members per program, or $84/$112 for the series of 15 programs.

Please pre-register on our new online registration system. For same-day registration, a laptop kiosk will be available.

Program scholarships are available for some Junior Naturalists participants. For more information, contact Deb at 715-798-3890.

2017 Summer Programs

Tuesday, June 20: Nature Detectives

Use your observation skills to discover nature’s secrets.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Wednesday, June 21: A Natural Team

Work as a team to solve unique challenges and find out how we are all “Better Together.”

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Tuesday, June 27: Nature’s Stories

Nature is full of stories! Use trees and tracks as the inspiration to craft your own tale.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Wednesday, June 28: Flower Frenzy

Appreciate the function of flowers and their pollinators.

(4th of July Parade Float Prep: Noon-1:00 p.m. Bring a lunch.)

 

Tuesday, July 4

Everyone can come see the Junior Naturalists’ Float in the 4th of July Parade at 11:00 a.m.!

 

Wednesday, July 5: Early Explorers

Travel back in time and discover new worlds and survival skills.

 

Tuesday, July 11:  Secrets of the Forest

Inspect trees, rocks, and holes to find all the components of a functional forest.

 

Wednesday, July 12: Predator and Prey

Who eats who? Both predators and prey keep the ecosystem in balance.

 

Tuesday, July 18: Art in Nature

Use your artistic eye to capture beauty in nature.

 

Wednesday, July 19: Naturalists at the Farm 

Get ready to get dirty and dig into our food sources.

Meet at the Cable Community Farm: 13765 Perry Lake Road, just one mile north of Cable

 

Tuesday, July 25: Nocturnal Nature

Who’s awake? Me too! Meet live bats with the US Forest Service. Adults are welcome, too!

 

Wednesday, July 26: River Rats 

Join the Wisconsin DNR’s fish crew to discover who lives in the Namakagon River. Bring water shoes and dress for getting wet. Adults are welcome, too!

 

Tuesday, August 1:  Insect Investigations

Let’s get buggy! Search for live insects and check out the Museum’s collection of creepy crawlies.

 

Wednesday, August 2: Nurture Nature

Nature takes care of us in many ways. It’s time to give back!

 

Tuesday, August 8: Rodents Big and Small  

See the world through the eyes of a tiny mouse or our largest rodent, the beaver!

 

Wednesday, August 9: Compost Cuisine

What’s the dirt on dirt? Meet the decomposers that get dirty.

The Museum asks that everyone who participates in a Museum sponsored event sign a Participation Agreement and a Waiver Agreement. These agreements can be signed digitally when registering online.